Three on the trot for upbeat hockey men

15 September 2003

Laughing lads: The league-winning UCT side after their 4-2 triumph over Central A: (back row, from left) Simon Martin, Dave du Prez, Charles Stuart, Mark Holness, Dylan Ball, Sean Thomson, Iain Parsons, Paul Blake and John McInroy; and (front row, from left) Matthew McConkey, George Eadie, Andrew Cronje, Dave Viney, captain Ian Symons and Adam Wilson. Absent is coach Pierre le Roux.

The men's hockey first side bagged their third consecutive Western Province Hockey Union's (WPHU) league title by beating Central A 4-2 at the UCT Astroturf on Saturday, September 6.

The side made hard work of the win, however, failing to score in the second half after leading 4-0 at halftime. Two early second-half goals by Central almost upset UCT's plans, but the side hung on to claim the points and the league trophy.
Ian Symons, George Eadie, Dave du Prez and Sean Thomson scored UCT's goals. The game proved a fitting end to the UCT season - bar the upcoming national Champions of Champions challenge in Pretoria - after the side also won the SASSU championship over the June break.
UCT also scored the highest number of goals in the WPHU super league (53), and conceded the least number of goals (a miserly 14 over their 14 matches).

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please view the republishing articles page for more information.

Monday Monthly

Volume 22 Edition 26

15 Sep 2003

Previous Editions