Awards for excellence

19 October 2022 Read time >10 min.
<b>Photo</b> Lerato Maduna.
Photo Lerato Maduna.

L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science

  • Cosnet Lerato Rametse (PhD candidate in the Division of Immunology)
  • Lusani Mamushiane (PhD candidate in UCT’s 5G laboratory)
  • Hendrina Shipanga (PhD in Medical Biochemistry)

NSTF-South32 Awards

  • Professor Sheetal Silal
  • Professor Michael Claeys

UCT Fellows

  • Professor Michael Claeys (Department of Chemical Engineering, Faculty of Engineering & the Built Environment)
  • Professor Joan Hambidge (School of Languages & Literatures, Faculty of Humanities)
  • Professor Nicola Illing (Department of Molecular and Cell Biology, Faculty of Science)
  • Professor Hanri Mostert (Department of Private Law, Faculty of Law)
  • Professor Mpiko Ntsekhe (Department of Medicine, Faculty of Health Sciences)
  • Professor Ntobeko Ntusi (Department of Medicine, Faculty of Health Sciences)
  • Professor Francis Nyamnjoh (School of African and Gender Studies, Anthropology and Linguistics, Faculty of Humanities)
  • Professor Fiona Ross (School of African and Gender Studies, Anthropology and Linguistics, Faculty of Humanities)
  • Professor Karen Sliwa-Hahnle (Cape Heart Institute, Faculty of Health Sciences)

Young Researcher Awards

  • Lauren Kohn (Department of Public Law, Faculty of Law)
  • Dr George Mahashe (Michaelis School of Fine Art, Faculty of Humanities)
  • Associate Professor Christopher Ouma (Department of English Literary Studies, Faculty of Humanities)
  • Associate Professor Amir Patel (Department of Electrical Engineering, Faculty of Engineering & the Built Environment)

American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering Fellowship

  • Professor Deon Bezuidenhout

South African Academy of Engineering Fellowship

  • Professor Harro von Blottnitz

Royal Society Fellowship

  • Emeritus Professor William Bond

Water Institute of South Africa Senior Fellow Membership

  • Dr Kirsty Carden

South African Institution of Chemical Engineers Innovation Award

  • Associate Professor Dyllon Randall

SAMRC Scientific Merit Awards

  • Professor Linda-Gail Bekker (Desmond Tutu HIV Centre and Department of Medicine)
  • Heather Zar (UCT Lung Institute, and Department of Paediatrics)
  • Professor Graeme Meintjes (Wellcome Centre for Infectious Diseases Research in Africa, and the Department of Medicine)
  • Professor Karen Sliwa (Hatter Institute for Cardiovascular Research in Africa, and the Department of Medicine)
  • Claire Hoving (AFGrica Unit, and the Department of Pathology)
  • Professor Mpiko Ntsekhe (Department of Medicine)

Dr John Gusdon Memorial New Investigator Award

  • Dr Rubina Bunjun
Dr Rubina Bunjun is the first scholar from an African university to receive the Dr John Gusdon Memorial New Investigator Award. Photo Lerato Maduna.

M&G’s 200 Young South Africans

Arts, entertainment, film and media

  • Lana Crowster
  • Musa Khanyile
  • Lehobye Goitsemang

Business and entrepreneurship

  • Nabeelah Kolia
  • Mulalo Nemataheni
  • Lilitha Mahlati
  • Nadine Arnold

Civil society

  • Zara Randriamanakoto
  • Grant Edmond
  • Ziyanda Stuurman
  • Karabo Malahleha


  • Noluvuyo Gqadu
  • Jameelah Omar
  • Athenkosi Nzala
  • Leana de Beer
  • Iviwe Mtubu
  • Nasrin Olla
  • Merle Mansfield
  • Jaden Corker
  • Lebogang Diale
  • Zanele Suzan Maduna


  • Hayley Clements


  • Zolani Metu
  • Nicholas Pereira
  • Candice Langford
  • Neziswa Titi
  • Cameron Joseph

Rural development projects

  • Hope Matsila

Science and technology

  • Lerato Mpye
  • Lindo Nkambule

Tourism and hospitality

  • Giselle Esau

PASS Awards

Vice-Chancellor’s awards

Vice-Chancellor’s Global Citizenship Award

  • Anne Isaac (Office for Inclusivity & Change)
  • Liesl Hermanus (Perinatal Mental Health Project, Hanover Park Midwife Obstetrics Unit)

Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Service Excellence

  • Health Sciences Faculty Research Office
  • UCT Libraries

Vice-Chancellor’s Transformation Award

  • Baxter Theatre Centre
Photo Je’nine May.

Social Responsiveness Award

  • Associate Professor Gina Ziervogel

Alan Pifer Award

  • Professor Ambroise Wonkam
  • Professor Cathy Ward

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please view the republishing articles page for more information.

Annual reviews

Year in Review 2021

19 Oct 2022

Year in Review 2020

Year in Review 2021

Finance, alumni and donors

19 Oct 2022 - >10 min read
Student affairs

19 Oct 2022 - 10 min read
Faculty highlights

19 Oct 2022 - 8 min read
Awards for excellence

19 Oct 2022 - >10 min read
2021 in pictures

19 Oct 2022


Previous Editions


The Newsroom and Publications unit releases an annual report, which is a review of activities on campus during the previous year. It spans nearly all aspects of UCT life, and includes reports from senior executives on issues such as governance, teaching and learning, research, social responsiveness, transformation and employment equity. Each year the report clearly illustrates clearly why UCT is held in such high regard in South Africa, Africa and across the globe.