Adjustment to compulsory annual leave policy for 2020

14 December 2020 | From Kgethi

Dear colleagues

At the online staff assembly on 13 October 2020, one of the questions the executive received was whether the University of Cape Town (UCT) would formally close on the days of business between 25 December 2020 and 1 January 2021.

The executive gave this question careful consideration. We will continue to acknowledge that 2020 has been an exceptionally difficult year for everybody at UCT and that colleagues continue to demonstrate their commitment in keeping the university project on track. We have also been challenged with the need to balance many factors impacting on the future of the university, including ensuring the financial sustainability of the institution. South Africa’s economic challenges and circumstances as a result of COVID-19 continue to impact on the university and all communities across the country. These concerns will continue to be a primary focus of our institution and campus community as we try to find the optimum balance of economic, environmental and financial sustainability.

In giving this balancing act careful consideration, the executive decided that UCT will not formally close during the last week of December. However, this does not prevent you from using your annual leave over the holiday season, and we encourage you to do so, if it is possible within your area of operation.

As our Chief Operating Officer, Dr Reno Morar, pointed out in a recent message to the campus community, we don’t know what new challenges may surprise us in 2021. We do know that we have survived a very strenuous year. For this reason, we all need to take a physical and mental break, so that we can start the new year on our best possible footing.

The executive also recognises that the decision to extend the 2020 academic year into December may make it difficult for some colleagues to take leave this month. As a result, some of you may be facing the threat of losing compulsory annual leave if you do not use these leave days before the end of this month.

It is important for all staff members to have the opportunity to take a decent break at the end of this year, so the executive has agreed with UCT Human Resources that any compulsory annual leave that was due to fall away at the end of 2020 will be rolled over. As a result, the deadline is now extended until the end of January 2021 for all members of staff. This means that you can choose to take your 2020 compulsory leave next month, without having to submit the usual paperwork to motivate for a rollover of compulsory leave. This management decision was reported to Council at its meeting on 5 December 2020.

If you need an extension of your compulsory leave beyond 31 January 2021, you will be required to submit a motivation to do so, as the normal leave policy will apply after that date.

As exhausting as this year has been, I look back on it with pride, a sense of victory and gratitude to each of you for all the ways you have helped to make this year a success. Although we were forced to be apart physically, the UCT community – students and staff members – worked as a winning team.

We didn’t just experience the pandemic – we investigated it as researchers, debated the issues as academics and responded with compassion, expertise and scholarship to the many needs that it highlighted. Our reach extended to a global audience with our virtual events, public lectures and celebrations, including our virtual graduation events this week. We explored new ways of using the online space – and we will continue to do so in 2021, as we adapt our teaching methodologies to embrace innovative ways of using digital platforms. However, we never forget that it is the quality and determination of our staff that make this university what it is.

As you take your well-deserved, relaxing holiday break, I hope you share the sense of pride I feel for a job well done in 2020, and that you return to UCT with excitement for the victories that lie ahead of us in the new year. Thank you for making it possible.

Sincerely

Professor Mamokgethi Phakeng
Vice-Chancellor


Read previous communications:


Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please view the republishing articles page for more information.


UCT’s response to COVID-19

COVID-19 is a global pandemic that caused President Cyril Ramaphosa to declare a national disaster in South Africa on 15 March and implement a national lockdown from 26 March.

UCT is taking the threat of infection in our university community extremely seriously, and this page will be updated regularly with the latest COVID-19 information.

Frequently asked questions

 

Daily updates


Friday, 18 December 11:30, 18 December 2020
Thursday, 19 November 09:30, 19 November 2020
Friday, 13 November 12:40, 13 November 2020
Friday, 16 October 10:05, 16 October 2020
Wednesday, 14 October 12:50, 14 October 2020
Tuesday, 22 September 14:10, 22 September 2020
Friday, 11 September 10:05, 11 September 2020
Monday, 31 August 12:20, 31 August 2020
Wednesday, 12 August 10:20, 12 August 2020
Friday, 7 August 11:24, 7 August 2020
Thursday, 6 August 18:26, 6 August 2020
Monday, 27 July 14:00, 27 July 2020
Wednesday, 15 July 09:30, 15 July 2020
Monday, 13 July 14:25, 13 July 2020
Monday, 6 July 16:20, 6 July 2020
Thursday, 25 June 10:15, 25 June 2020
Tuesday, 23 June 12:30, 23 June 2020
Thursday, 18 June 17:35, 18 June 2020
Wednesday, 17 June 10:45, 17 June 2020
Tuesday, 2 June 12:20, 2 June 2020
Friday, 29 May 09:25, 29 May 2020
Monday, 25 May 14:00, 25 May 2020
Thursday, 21 May 12:00, 21 May 2020
Wednesday, 6 May 10:00, 6 May 2020
Tuesday, 5 May 17:05, 5 May 2020
Thursday, 30 April 17:10, 30 April 2020
Tuesday, 28 April 10:30, 28 April 2020
Friday, 24 April 09:35, 24 April 2020
Thursday, 23 April 17:00, 23 April 2020
Wednesday, 22 April 14:25, 22 April 2020
Monday, 20 April 17:45, 20 April 2020
Friday, 17 April 12:30, 17 April 2020
Thursday, 16 April 09:45, 16 April 2020
Tuesday, 14 April 11:30, 14 April 2020
Thursday, 9 April 09:00, 9 April 2020
Wednesday, 8 April 15:40, 8 April 2020
Wednesday, 1 April 15:50, 1 April 2020
Friday, 27 March 11:40, 27 March 2020
Thursday, 26 March 18:30, 26 March 2020
Tuesday, 24 March 15:40, 24 March 2020
Monday, 23 March 15:40, 23 March 2020
Friday, 20 March 16:00, 20 March 2020
Thursday, 19 March 09:15, 19 March 2020
Wednesday, 18 March 16:00, 18 March 2020
Tuesday, 17 March 12:50, 17 March 2020
Monday, 16 March 17:15, 16 March 2020

Campus communications

 
2021


2020

New SRC and other updates 16:44, 4 November 2020
Virtual graduation ceremonies 13:30, 21 October 2020
Online staff assembly and other updates 15:09, 30 September 2020
Fee adjustments and other updates 15:21, 16 September 2020
Call for proposals: TLC2020 10:15, 26 August 2020
SAULM survey and other updates 15:30, 5 August 2020
COVID-19 cases and other updates 15:26, 5 August 2020
New UCT Council and other updates 15:12, 15 July 2020
Upcoming UCT virtual events 09:30, 15 July 2020
Pre-paid data for UCT students 14:25, 22 April 2020

Resources

Video messages from the Department of Medicine

Getting credible, evidence-based, accessible information and recommendations relating to COVID-19

The Department of Medicine at the University of Cape Town and Groote Schuur Hospital, are producing educational video material for use on digital platforms and in multiple languages. The information contained in these videos is authenticated and endorsed by the team of experts based in the Department of Medicine. Many of the recommendations are based on current best evidence and are aligned to provincial, national and international guidelines. For more information on UCT’s Department of Medicine, please visit the website.


To watch more videos like these, visit the Department of Medicine’s YouTube channel.

Useful information from UCT

External resources


News and opinions


Statements and media releases


Media releases



Read more  

Statements from Government



 
 

In an email to the UCT community, Vice-Chancellor Professor Mamokgethi Phakeng said:
“COVID-19, caused by the virus SARS-CoV-2, is a rapidly changing epidemic. [...] Information [...] will be updated as and when new information becomes available.”

 

We are continuing to monitor the situation and we will be updating the UCT community regularly – as and when there are further updates. If you are concerned or need more information, students can contact the Student Wellness Service on 021 650 5620 or 021 650 1271 (after hours), while staff can contact 021 650 5685.

 

TOP