NRF kudos for scholars

19 September 2011

UCT scholars featured prominently among the recipients of recent awards presented by the National Research Foundation (NRF).

Prof Bongani Mayosi Prof Frank Brombacher Prof George Janelidze
Standout: Profs Bongani Mayosi, Frank Brombacher and George Janelidze have been recognised by the NRF for their work.

Professor Bongani Mayosi, head of the Department of Medicine, received the NRF Transformation of the Science Cohort Award, which recognises an individual who, according to the organisation, "has played an outstanding role in addressing the challenges of getting more women and black scientists to advance world-class research performance". Mayosi was hailed for his scholarly work, as well as for his contributions to mentorship, the establishment of research capacity-building programmes and the development of healthcare policy.

In addition, the NRF renewed the A-ratings of Professor Frank Brombacher, who holds the national research chair for the immunology of infectious diseases in Africa, and Professor George Janelidze of the Department of Mathematics and Applied Mathematics. These ratings confirm their standings as world leaders in their fields.

In addition, Professors David Glasser and Lyn Wadley, UCT graduates now both based at the University of the Witwatersrand, also received A-ratings.

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please view the republishing articles page for more information.

Monday Monthly

Volume 30 Edition 14

19 Sep 2011

Download PDF

Previous Editions