Trio of new Fellows

22 October 2008 | Story by Helen Théron

Prof Vivienne Russell & Dr Max Price
New Fellow: Prof Vivienne Russell, photographed with Vice-Chancellor Dr Max Price, was inducted at the annual Fellows Dinner on 16 October. Russell is one of three new UCT Fellows.

Vice-Chancellor Dr Max Price toasted a trio of new UCT Fellows on 16 October, two of them women. Professors Vivienne Russell (human biology), Judith Sealy (archaeology), and Igor Barashenkov (mathematics and applied mathematics) were inducted at the annual Fellows Dinner, the latter two in absentia.

UCT's Fellows now number 58.

The UCT Council established Fellowships for members of permanent academic staff in recognition of original, distinguished academic work that merits special recognition. Other categories of Fellow include Sometime Fellow, a Fellow who has left the university prior to retirement, and Life Fellow, a Fellow who has retired from UCT, or who has a break in service.

At the function acting Deputy Vice-Chancellor Professor Danie Visser also introduced the six new recipients of the Research Fellow Awards: Dr David Braun (archaeology), Dr Christopher Clarkson (mathematics and applied mathematics), Dr Imraan Coovadia (English language and literature), Associate Professor Dr Keertan Dheda (medicine), Dr Anthony Figaji (neurosurgery) and Dr Lindsey Gillson (botany).

Research Fellows
Six of the best: Recipients of the New Research Fellow Awards are (from left): Dr Anthony Figaji, Assoc Prof Keertan Dheda, Dr Lindsey Gillson, Dr David Braun, Dr Christopher Clarkson, and Dr Imraan Coovadia.

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please view the republishing articles page for more information.