Baxter Theatre Centre closed until end of April 2020

17 March 2020 | Story Supplied. Photo Jesse Kramer. Read time 2 min.
The Baxter Theatre Centre will be closed until the end of April 2020 due to the coronavirus pandemic.
The Baxter Theatre Centre will be closed until the end of April 2020 due to the coronavirus pandemic.

The Baxter Theatre Centre has made the decision to cancel all performances with immediate effect, and will reopen their doors at the end of April 2020. This is in line with President Cyril Ramaphosa’s declaration of a state of disaster in South Africa and the University of Cape Town (UCT) executive’s decision to implement precautionary, proactive measures to minimise the risk of spreading the coronavirus (COVID-19).

The most important public health principle for our country and our university is containment of the disease, including avoiding social gatherings and minimising groups of people gathering in one space.

Productions that will be affected during the Baxter’s closure include David Kramer’s Danger in the Dark, Tally-Ho Productions’ The Last Five Years, the 55th Fleur du Cap Theatre awards, Ayana/Afrika Ablaze’s I am Rain, Ndumiso Lindi’s Boys Don’t Cry, Celeste Ntuli’s Money and Men, Best of Zabalaza 2020, all Morning Melodies, the South African College of Music, the Cape Town Concert Series and Masambe Theatre performances.

The Baxter will continue to follow directives from local and national government and the UCT leadership. Members of the public will be kept informed through the centre’s social media platforms, newsletter and through the media.

There has been a call on social media platforms for patrons who have booked tickets for a show at any theatre or event to please donate the tickets by not requesting a refund, as this is precisely what can kill the arts. The livelihood of many performing arts professionals is at stake as the world tries to respond to and manage the coronavirus pandemic. The Baxter would like to encourage that this option kindly be considered.

Patrons and members of the public who would prefer a refund should follow these online procedures:

There is a self-refund option available on your Webtickets profile. Simply log in, click on “My Tickets”, “Choose Action” and then on “Refund Tickets” next to your transaction. If payment was made via Pick n Pay or EFT, you will be prompted to enter your banking details and will receive a confirmation email. Refunds will be processed and paid within five working days.

For any further enquiries, please email refunds@webtickets.co.za.


Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please view the republishing articles page for more information.


UCT’s response to COVID-19

COVID-19 is a global pandemic that caused President Cyril Ramaphosa to declare a national disaster in South Africa on 15 March and implement a national lockdown from 26 March.

UCT is taking the threat of infection in our university community extremely seriously, and this page will be updated regularly with the latest COVID-19 information.

Frequently asked questions

 

Daily updates


Friday, 16 October 10:05, 16 October 2020
Wednesday, 14 October 12:50, 14 October 2020
Tuesday, 22 September 14:10, 22 September 2020
Friday, 11 September 10:05, 11 September 2020
Monday, 31 August 12:20, 31 August 2020
Wednesday, 12 August 10:20, 12 August 2020
Friday, 7 August 11:24, 7 August 2020
Thursday, 6 August 18:26, 6 August 2020
Monday, 27 July 14:00, 27 July 2020
Wednesday, 15 July 09:30, 15 July 2020
Monday, 13 July 14:25, 13 July 2020
Monday, 6 July 16:20, 6 July 2020
Thursday, 25 June 10:15, 25 June 2020
Tuesday, 23 June 12:30, 23 June 2020
Thursday, 18 June 17:35, 18 June 2020
Wednesday, 17 June 10:45, 17 June 2020
Tuesday, 2 June 12:20, 2 June 2020
Friday, 29 May 09:25, 29 May 2020
Monday, 25 May 14:00, 25 May 2020
Thursday, 21 May 12:00, 21 May 2020
Wednesday, 6 May 10:00, 6 May 2020
Tuesday, 5 May 17:05, 5 May 2020
Thursday, 30 April 17:10, 30 April 2020
Tuesday, 28 April 10:30, 28 April 2020
Friday, 24 April 09:35, 24 April 2020
Thursday, 23 April 17:00, 23 April 2020
Wednesday, 22 April 14:25, 22 April 2020
Monday, 20 April 17:45, 20 April 2020
Friday, 17 April 12:30, 17 April 2020
Thursday, 16 April 09:45, 16 April 2020
Tuesday, 14 April 11:30, 14 April 2020
Thursday, 9 April 09:00, 9 April 2020
Wednesday, 8 April 15:40, 8 April 2020
Wednesday, 1 April 15:50, 1 April 2020
Friday, 27 March 11:40, 27 March 2020
Thursday, 26 March 18:30, 26 March 2020
Tuesday, 24 March 15:40, 24 March 2020
Monday, 23 March 15:40, 23 March 2020
Friday, 20 March 16:00, 20 March 2020
Thursday, 19 March 09:15, 19 March 2020
Wednesday, 18 March 16:00, 18 March 2020
Tuesday, 17 March 12:50, 17 March 2020
Monday, 16 March 17:15, 16 March 2020

Campus communications


Online staff assembly and other updates 15:09, 30 September 2020
Fee adjustments and other updates 15:21, 16 September 2020
Call for proposals: TLC2020 10:15, 26 August 2020
SAULM survey and other updates 15:30, 5 August 2020
COVID-19 cases and other updates 15:26, 5 August 2020
New UCT Council and other updates 15:12, 15 July 2020
Upcoming UCT virtual events 09:30, 15 July 2020
Pre-paid data for UCT students 14:25, 22 April 2020
Update for postgraduate students 12:55, 20 April 2020

Resources

Video messages from the Department of Medicine

Getting credible, evidence-based, accessible information and recommendations relating to COVID-19

The Department of Medicine at the University of Cape Town and Groote Schuur Hospital, are producing educational video material for use on digital platforms and in multiple languages. The information contained in these videos is authenticated and endorsed by the team of experts based in the Department of Medicine. Many of the recommendations are based on current best evidence and are aligned to provincial, national and international guidelines. For more information on UCT’s Department of Medicine, please visit the website.


To watch more videos like these, visit the Department of Medicine’s YouTube channel.

Useful information from UCT

External resources


News and opinions


Statements and media releases


Media releases



Read more  

Statements from Government



 
 

In an email to the UCT community, Vice-Chancellor Professor Mamokgethi Phakeng said:
“COVID-19, caused by the virus SARS-CoV-2, is a rapidly changing epidemic. [...] Information [...] will be updated as and when new information becomes available.”

 

We are continuing to monitor the situation and we will be updating the UCT community regularly – as and when there are further updates. If you are concerned or need more information, students can contact the Student Wellness Service on 021 650 5620 or 021 650 1271 (after hours), while staff can contact 021 650 5685.

 

TOP