Invitation: The Pitch UCT annual finals

21 September 2023

Dear colleagues and students

You are invited to the 8th annual finals of The Pitch UCT, scheduled to take place on Friday, 29 September 2023 at 17:30.

The top eight University of Cape Town (UCT) student entrepreneurs, selected from over 100 applicants, will pitch their businesses and business ideas to a high-level panel of executive judges.

The Pitch is an event run by the Academic Representatives' Council, within the Department of Student Affairs (DSA), in partnership with the Office of the Vice-Chancellor (OVC). It gives finalists a chance to pitch ideas to a panel of four entrepreneur judges, and in the process a chance to win the coveted R25 000 first prize in seed funding and six months’ worth of business mentorship by Allan Gray Orbis Foundation!

The winners will walk away with their share of an overall R80 000 in prizes, and mentorship from the Allan Gray Orbis Foundation.

It is bound to be a fantastic evening filled with innovative ideas and expert entrepreneurial feedback from our insightful experienced judges.

Keynote speakers include the Vice-Chancellor interim, Professor Daya Reddy; the Deputy
Vice-Chancellor: Transformation, Student Affairs and Social Responsiveness, Professor Elelwani Ramugondo; and the Chief Executive Officer of the Allan Gray Orbis Foundation, Dr Nontobeko Mabizela.

This event is held in conjunction with Careers Service, the DSA, the Hasso Plattner School of Design Thinking Afrika, the OVC, the Residence Academic Development Committee, the Solution Space at the Graduate School of Business; as well as the impact partners, Allan Gray Orbis Foundation.

Places are limited so those keen to attend are urged to confirm as soon as possible. Food and refreshments will be served. The dress code is smart.

For any queries, please contact Mihlali Pikashe.

Yours in entrepreneurship

Academic Representatives’ Council and The Pitch UCT Team

Supported by the Residence Academic Development Committee

Read previous communications:

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please view the republishing articles page for more information.