New UCT Council Members

29 July 2016 | Story by Newsroom
29 July 2016

Dear colleagues and students,

The University of Cape Town (UCT) Council plays a central role in the life of the institution by steering the critical decisions involved in running the university. This governing body consists of 30 members who bring a diverse range of skills, backgrounds and talents in their service to the institution. Its responsibilities include determining the mission, objectives, goals, strategies and policies for the progress of UCT; ensuring an environment that is conducive to efficient, effective, economical and ethical attainment of these goals; maintaining a financially secure, healthy and viable environment; and accounting for all decisions taken at UCT, including the submission of the required reports and documents to the Minister of Higher Education.

It is my pleasure to introduce to you the new Council members of UCT. These members were appointed to Council for the period 1 July 2016 to 30 June 2020.


The 30-member Council consists of the executive officers, other employees of the institution, students and persons who are not members of staff or students of the institution (who must be at least 60% of the total membership), appointed by a wide range of constituencies.

Members of Council

The Council membership for the period 1 July 2016 to 30 June 2020 is recorded below. The term of appointment is four years unless stated otherwise.

Executive Officers (ex officio) (5)

  1. Dr Max Price (Vice-Chancellor)
  2. Prof Sandra Klopper (Deputy Vice-Chancellor)
  3. Prof Anwar Mall (Acting Deputy Vice-Chancellor)
  4. Prof Francis Petersen (Deputy Vice-Chancellor)
  5. Prof Danie Visser (Deputy Vice-Chancellor)

Ministerial Appointees (3)

  1. Ms Sheila Barsel
  2. Ms Rahmat Omar
  3. Mr Sipho Pityana (Chairperson)

Members elected by convocation (6)

  1. Mr Norman Arendse SC
  2. Ms Debora Budlender (Deputy Chairperson)
  3. Dr Shuaib Manjra
  4. Adv Ncumisa Mayosi
  5. Dr Heidi Raubenheimer
  6. Prof Shirley Zinn

Academic and professional administrative & support staff (PASS) elected members (2)

  1. Assoc Prof Elelwani Ramugondo (Academic)
  2. Mr Tsatsi Ngcingwana (PASS)

Members elected by Senate (3)

  1. Professor Bongani Mayosi
  2. Professor Tom Moultrie
  3. Mr Jacques Rousseau

Members elected by donors (2)

  1. Mr Ezra Davids
  2. Ms Dianna Yach

Nominee of Cape Town City Council (1)

  1. Cllr Mark Kleinschmidt

Nominee of the Premier of the Western Cape (1)

  1. Dr Michael Cardo MP

Appointed by the Appointments Committee of Council (5)

  1. Mr Aboubakar Jakoet
  2. Ms Bulelwa Makalima-Ngewana
  3. Ms Tshidi Mokgabudi
  4. Mr Buyani Zwane
  5. Babalwa Ngonyama

Appointed by the SRC (2)

  1. Mr Chanda Chungu (to 31.10.2016)
  2. Mr Rorisang Moseli (to 31.10.2016)

Read Council members' individual biographies


Professor Francis Petersen
Acting Vice-Chancellor

Read previous communications:

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please view the republishing articles page for more information.