Crème of student leaders honoured by UCT

17 November 2015

Graça Machel residence’s dining hall was decked to celebrate of some of UCT’s brightest student leaders on 13 October for the annual Student Leadership Awards, held in partnership with Investec.

Among the awards was the Vice-Chancellor’s Award – given to outgoing SRC president Ramabina Mahapa – and the Deputy Vice-Chancellor’s Award – conferred on Amy Booth, the incoming vice-president of the UCT Surgical Society.

Mahapa, who served on the SRC for two years and was its president in 2014/2015, received the Vice-Chancellor’s Award, which goes to a most outstanding student leader. A range of other exceptional student leaders were honoured, including the Surgical Society executive committee, which scooped the Most Outstanding Society Executive Award.

Keynote speaker Setlogane Manchidi encouraged the young leaders not to be bystanders. Let people know what you stand for and don’t stand for, he advised the students in a speech that drew almost a minute of applause.

For the full range of awards and citations, click here.

Story by Yusuf Omar.

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please view the republishing articles page for more information.