Faculty of Health Sciences

23 April 2012


In 1920, the Faculty of Medicine introduced its first three chairs: in Medicine, held by Prof Arthur Falconer; in Surgery, Prof Charles Saint; and in Obstetrics and Gynaecology, Prof Eric Crichton. This allowed the faculty to provide the country's first complete medical degree.*

Prof Arthur Falconer Prof Eric Crichton Prof Charles Saint
(From left) Prof Arthur Falconer, Prof Eric Crichton and Prof Charles Saint, holders of the faculty's first three chairs.


Today, the Faculty of Health Sciences hosts seven research chairs. In addition, it is home to no fewer than eight chairs under the South African Research Chairs Initiative, aka SARChI.

Research chairs**

The Chair in Primary Health Care, the Discovery Health Chair of Exercise and Sport Science, the Helen and Morris Mauerberger Chair of Cardiology, the William P Slater Chair of Geriatrics, the Vera Grover Chair of Intellectual Disability, the Chris Barnard Chair of Cardiothoracic Surgery, and the Charles FM Saint Chair of Paediatric Surgery.

SARChI Chairs

The chair in Applied Proteomics and Chemical Biology, in Immunology of Infectious Diseases in Africa, in Clinical Neurosciences Research, in Lung Infection and Immunity in Poverty-Related Diseases, in Health and Wealth in South Africa, in Brain Imaging, in Cancer Biology, and in Vaccinology.

*Source: The University of Cape Town 1918-1948: The formative years by Howard Phillips

**Source: Faculty of Health Sciences Handbook

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please view the republishing articles page for more information.