Ad hominem candidates fêted

27 February 2012

Hard work paid off when the achievements of 63 'top-performing' academics and scientific and technical officers were honoured at this year's ad hominem promotions dinner on 21 February.

Known as an extremely stringent and rigorous process, moving up a rung at UCT by way of ad hominem promotion is a great honour. Applicants are rated across a broad range of their outputs, including, in the case of academics, teaching, learning, leadership, management, administration, social responsiveness and research.

Among the newest honourees, who were congratulated by vice-chancellor Dr Max Price on the night were 11 professors, 19 associate professors, 21 senior lecturers, three chief technical officers, three senior technical officers, two senior research officers, two principal scientific officers and one chief research officer.

CHED Commerce
CHED:(From left, back) Tim Low and Dr Kate Bennie. (Front) Assoc Profs Suellen Shay and June Pym and VC Dr Max Price. Commerce:(From left) Prof Martin Wittenberg, VC Dr Max Price, dean Prof Don Ross and Cecil Mlatsheni.
EBE Health Sciences
Engineering and the Built Environment:(From left, back) Dr Steeve Chung Kim, Nicky Wolmarans, Assoc Prof Jochen Petersen, Dr Megan Becker and Dr Olabisi Falowo. (Front) Penny Park-Ross, VC Dr Max Price, Prof Jenni Case, dean Prof Francis Petersen and Assoc Prof Nic Coetzer. Health Sciences(From left, back) Assoc Profs Brenda Morrow, Cynthia Sikakana, Roshan Galvaan and Elelwani Ramugondo, Gillian Ferguson, Assoc Profs Virna Leaner and Sharon Prince, and Morea Petersen. (Front) Hendrina Victor, Assoc Prof David Coetzee, VC Dr Max Price, acting dean Prof Sue Kidson, Assoc Prof Pat Mayers and Geney Gunston.
Humanities LAW
Humanities:(From left, back) Assoc Prof Adam Haupt, Dr Ian-Malcolm Rijsdijk and Andrew Lamprecht. (Front) Prof Nigel Penn, dean Paula Ensor, VC Dr Max Price and Prof Gail Fincham. LAW:(From left, back:) Drs Andrew Hutchinson and Waheeda Amien, Prof Jaco Barnard-Naude and Assoc Prof Debbie Collier. (Front) Assoc Prof Dee Smythe, VC Dr Max Price, dean Prof PJ Schwikkard and Prof Loretta Feris.
Science:(From left, back) Assoc Prof Rachel Wynberg, Dr Rob Ingle, Assoc Prof Tony Verboom and Dr Gina Ziervogel. (Front) Derick September, VC Dr Max Price, Terry Trinder-Smith and dean Prof Anton le Roex.  

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please view the republishing articles page for more information.