Schock winners in full voice

02 December 2009

Vocalists Nozuko Teto and Thembinkosi Mgetyengana have been named as the winners of the 2009 Schock Foundation Prizes for Singing at the South African College of Music (SACM). Teto won the women's section, followed by Hlengiwe Mkhwanazi and Nelmari Reyneke. In the men's section, Mgetyengana pipped Thando Mpushe and Thato Machona. The annual voice competition is sponsored by the Schock Foundation, and is open to classical voice students in the second or third year of their studies at the SACM. Prizes are valued at R5 000 for the winners, R3 000 for the first runners-up and R2 000 for the second runners-up in each category. In the picture are Nelmari Reyneke, Thando Mpushe, Nozuko Teto, Thembinkosi Mgetyengana, Hlengiwe Mkhwanazi and Thato Machona.

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please view the republishing articles page for more information.