04 August 2008

In Monday Paper vol 27 no 11 of 21 July, we listed the selection committee that will appoint the new deputy vice-chancellors. We have since been informed that consultant in the Office of the Vice-Chancellor, Dave van Eeden, and employment equity manager Sabie Surtee have been invited to join the committee. The full committee is now:

  • Jeremy Gauntlett, chair (representing Council)
  • Vuyiswa Doo (Council)
  • Archbishop Njongonkulu Ndungane (Council)
  • Ebrahim Patel (Council)
  • Dr Max Price (as Vice-Chancellor)
  • Prof Melvin Ayogu (Deans)
  • Prof Paula Ensor (Deans)
  • Prof David Aschman (Senate)
  • Prof Bongani Mayosi (Senate)
  • Prof Lungisile Ntsebeza (Senate)
  • Assoc Prof Pumla Gobodo-Madikizela (academics)
  • Dr Ulrike Rivett (academics)
  • Edwina Goliath (professional and support staff)
  • Dr Marilet Sienaert (professional and support staff)
  • Thulani Madinginye (students)
  • Thando Vilakazi (students)
  • Prof Francis Petersen (nominated by VC on grounds of diversity, experience or expertise)
  • Prof Thandabantu Nhlapo (nominated by VC on grounds of diversity, experience or expertise)
  • Dave van Eeden (advisory capacity)
  • Sabie Surtee (advisory capacity)

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please view the republishing articles page for more information.