Council voting done

09 June 2008

Emissaries: Professor Kit Vaughan and Gary Gabriels will represent the academic and professional & administrative support staff, respectively, on UCT Council.

Voting's wrapped up and ballots have been tallied, and Professor Kit Vaughan and Gary Gabriels have been named as the representatives for, respectively, the academic & professional and administrative support staff on UCT Council.

This will be the second term on Council for Vaughan, deputy dean in the Faculty of Health Sciences, who represented Senate between 2002 and 2004. Gabriels, principal technical officer in the Division of Clinical Pharmacology and an executive member of the Employees' Union, will make his first appearance on Council.

Vaughan cites as his mantra a question by Sir John Carruthers Beattie, UCT's very first vice-chancellor and principal: What provision are we making in South Africa for using the intellectual ability of our people to best advantage? "To build a successful academic enterprise - whether at an individual, faculty or institutional level - I believe the key to success is to pay attention to scholarship, people and funding," says Vaughan.

"My decision to stand for Council was based on the assessment of the current climate and the opportunity to serve," adds Gabriels. "I will contribute and strive to ensure for an efficiently and optimally-managed university, with adequate diversity provisions at all levels."

Council starts its term on 1 July.

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please view the republishing articles page for more information.