Musical high noon

02 December 2002

Making themselves heard: SACM Director Assoc. Prof Franklin Larey (far left) and Brian Bechet (third from right) of the Schock Foundation, with the four singers who competed for the inaugural Schock Foundation prizes for singing, Phumzile Magongoma, Louis van der Merwe, Nokrismesi Skota and Janine Magnin.

FOUR performers from UCT's South African College of Music (SACM) had the honour of vying vocally for the inaugural Schock Foundation Prizes for Singing in the Baxter Concert Hall on November 11.

Sopranos Janine Magnin and Nokrismesi Skota, and baritones Phumzile Magongoma and Louis van der Merwe had, after arduous qualifications, been selected as finalists for the competition, and had to contest for top honours in the women's and men's categories on the evening. Skota took first prize in the women's section, while Magongoma was chosen as the winner of the men's event.

The winners each took home a cheque of R4 000, while the runners-up earned themselves R1 000 each. Prizes were presented by Brian Bechet, trustee of the Schock Foundation, a charitable and educational foundation established by the late Judge Philip Schock.

Associate Professor Franklin Larey (Director of the SACM), Andrea Catzel, Associate Professor Virginia Davids, Nellie du Toit, Dr Brad Liebl and Professor James May served as judges for the event.

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please view the republishing articles page for more information.