UCT hits Tukkies for six

30 September 2002
THE UCT cricket first XI won the 2002 MTN National Club Championship, defeating the University of Pretoria's team by five wickets at SuperSport Park in Centurion, Gauteng, on Wednesday, September 24.

Tukkies, after an unbeaten run on their way to the finals of the weeklong tournament, batted first, amassing an imposing 259/5 off their allotted 45 overs. Jonathan Shutte, who took 2/53 in nine overs, and Farhaan Behardien (2/41 in eight overs) were the pick of the UCT bowlers.

Having to score at 5.7 runs per over – something they had to do for much of the week – UCT proved to be equal to the chase, John Geoghegon finishing the game off with two consecutive boundaries and taking the UCT score to 262/5 with nine balls to spare. Man-of-the-match Neil Kruger ended the match on 95 not out off 124 deliveries, and was ably supported by Keith van Niekerk (46 from 52 balls) and Darren Croxford (52 from 44 balls).

UCT qualified for the final after winning their round-robin section on a superior run rate. They beat the University of Free State, Potchefstroom University, West End (representing the Griquas) and Worcester United, and suffered their only defeat against Old Grey from Port Elizabeth.

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please view the republishing articles page for more information.