Two new SAAE follows from UCT

16 September 2002
DEAN OF Science, Professor Daya Reddy, and Professor Philip Lloyd of the Faculty of Engineering and the Built Environment are the newest members of the South African Academy of Engineering (SAAE), bringing UCT's tally of members to three (Dean of EBE, Professor Cyril O'Connor, is an existing SAAE Fellow).

SAAE is a non-profit independent institution comprising South Africa's most eminent engineers, in all disciplines, and related professionals. Election to the Academy is by invitation only and includes those deemed by their peers to have made "exceptional contributions to engineering".

"At the professional level it is probably the ultimate in peer recognition, which some might say is the ultimate ego trip, but which I view as a challenge, to continue to deserve and thereby to discharge the responsibility it confers," says Lloyd.

SAAE Fellows are expected to network with other academics to address overarching problems. Lloyd is active in addressing problems related to clean water for public consumption, which has arisen from studies in virology and toxicology, far removed from his main interest in domestic energy.

Reflecting on the honour, Reddy said: "I am particularly pleased that the SAAE has seen fit to recognise someone like myself who works at the interface between engineering and the mathematical sciences."

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please view the republishing articles page for more information.