UCT tops at SA regatta

19 May 2002
A NUMBER of UCT rowing teams oared themselves into the gold medals at the South African Student Rowing Sprint Regatta, hosted by the University at the Vanderkloof Dam early in April.

The men's A Eight+ and the women's A 4– took first prizes in both their prestigious events, as did the women's B 4x and one of the men's A 4+ teams. In addition, there were a number of other victorious UCT sides on the day, including the women's B 4+ and the men's B 2–.

UCT also won the overall trophy, beating the teams from the eight other participating universities.

Good performances on the water also convinced the national selectors to name a number of UCT students for the South African Students Sports Union (SASSU) squads. Stuart Bellamy, Neil Lister, Stuart Thomson, Dave MacKay, Ramzi Solomon, Sally Munro and Kerry Moir were selected for the SASSU A teams.

In addition, Demitrius Demitrou, Andrew Grobicki, Sam Pearson, Hether McKenzie and Kate Richards made it into the SASSU B squads.

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please view the republishing articles page for more information.