New UCT Council now constituted

08 July 2024 | Norman Arendse (SC)

Dear members of the UCT community

I write on behalf of the University of Cape Town (UCT) Council following the first plenary meeting of the new Council on Saturday, 6 July 2024.

The new Council has been constituted and all members (30 in total) have been appointed in terms of the institutional statute. Council extends its appreciation to each of the electing and appointing bodies for attending to and concluding their respective processes that have led to the appointment of the new Council within the required timeframe. The constituting meeting of 6 July marked the passing of the baton from the previous to the new Council whose four-year term (1 July 2024–30 June 2028) has now commenced.

Appointment of the Council chairperson and deputy

The most immediate order of business was for Council to elect its chairperson and deputy; and appoint members and chairpersons of key Council committees. Ms Nomarashiya Caluza and I are honoured to have been elected to serve as the deputy chairperson and chair of Council respectively. We, and each of the members of Council, embrace the fiduciary duties and associated responsibilities that we now have, and I am confident that as a Council we will work collectively in the best interest of UCT.

Appointment of the chairpersons of key Council committees

Committee Chair
Irma Stern Committee Ms Dianna Yach
Honorary Degrees Committee Professor Eddy Maloka
Social, Ethics and Transformation Committee Ms Nazeema Mohamed
University Audit & Risk Committee Mr Oratile Mothudi
University Building & Development Committee Mr Malcolm Campbell
University Finance Committee Mr Reeza Isaacs
University Human Resources Committee Ms Dianna Yach
University Information and Communication Technology Committee Dr Maletsabisa Molapo
University Naming Committee Mr David Ansara

Council also made member appointments to various committees and these will be communicated to the servicing officers.

An update on the vice-chancellor appointment

Further to the campus announcement of 24 May conveying the decision of the UCT Council to appoint Professor Mosa Moshabela as vice-chancellor, I am pleased to confirm that Professor Moshabela is available to take up the appointment earlier than 1 October 2024. Professor Daya Reddy, who is in full support of the earlier start date, will step down as vice-chancellor interim on 31 July 2024 and will continue to be available to support Professor Moshabela in a part-time advisory capacity for a period of time that is to be determined. UCT owes Professor Reddy a debt of gratitude for taking on the responsibilities of vice-chancellor at a very challenging time for our institution, and making a significant leadership contribution when it was most needed. The UCT Council extends its deep gratitude to Professor Reddy and welcomes Professor Moshabela as the next vice-chancellor with effect from 1 August 2024.

Finally, Council had a constructive and productive first plenary meeting which included a facilitated session on institutional governance and Council effectiveness. This is a basis from which further induction discussions will follow. I am confident that UCT has a governing body composed of skilled and committed members who will serve the interests of our university as we discharge our fiduciary duties.


Norman Arendse (SC)
Chair of UCT Council

Read previous communications:

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please view the republishing articles page for more information.