UCT Open Textbook Award: call for nominations

13 June 2023 | Acting DVC Prof Harsha Kathard

Dear colleagues and students

The UCT Open Textbook Award is now in its fourth year and is a crucial mechanism for supporting innovative open education activity that addresses issues related to the cost of teaching and learning materials, as well as curriculum change and multilingualism at the University of Cape Town (UCT).

Open textbooks are freely available, openly licensed educational resources with affordances for dynamic, collaborative approaches to textbook authorship, quality assurance and publishing. In addition to the cost-saving aspect, open textbooks provide a means through which to engage students as co-creators and share teaching and learning materials beyond the institution.

The UCT Open Textbook Award has a social justice focus and aims to recognise activities that support the university’s transformation efforts. In line with this approach, the award recognises open textbook development initiatives which address any of the following criteria:

  • curriculum transformation/decolonisation
  • pedagogical innovation
  • inclusion of students and marginalised voices
  • disability access
  • relevance to local context
  • multilingualism
  • technical innovation.

The award may be made to single or multiple authored books. No restriction is placed on disciplinary orientation, language or format in which the book is written. There is also no restriction in terms of the publication date of the work. All nominated works must carry a Creative Commons or similar open license.

The UCT Open Textbook Award carries a value of R30 000 and may be shared between more than one recipient.

Nominations are now open for the 2023 UCT Open Textbook Award. Nominations can be submitted by either the open textbook authors or by a third party. The deadline for nominations is 28 July 2023.


Professor Harsha Kathard
Acting Deputy Vice-Chancellor: Teaching and Learning

Read previous communications:

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please view the republishing articles page for more information.