UCT to invite final-year medical students back to campus

15 May 2020 | From Kgethi

Dear students and colleagues,

I am writing to inform you that the University of Cape Town (UCT) is making plans to invite sixth-year medical students to participate in a controlled return to campus. Their return will be voluntary and will need to take place before 31 May 2020 – the deadline set by the Minister of Higher Education and Training, Dr Blade Nzimande, for final-year clinical training students to travel back to their university programmes. Details of the controlled return of these students are being finalised and will be communicated to them in due course by the Faculty of Health Sciences and the Department of Student Affairs.

Students who accept the offer to return to their clinical training will be required to comply with a number of safety conditions as required by the government and UCT. One of these is that all returning students must enter a 14-day self-quarantine period on arrival to their rooms in residence, or their private accommodation. They will also need to follow protocols for good public health practice.

We want to stress that students may choose not to return at this time. For instance, some students may be immunosuppressed and so are at high risk of infection. Arrangements will be made for these students to complete their degree at a later date.

The return of these students to their programme of study will involve careful planning and thorough consultation to ensure the safety of all who are involved. We are mindful of the government restrictions under Level Four lockdown and we do not take the risk of exposure to COVID-19 lightly. Appropriate personal protective equipment will be issued to students as well as to staff members in residences and in the Faculty of Health Sciences. We are working in consultation with labour unions and taking every possible precaution to ensure the safety and well-being of everyone who will be involved.

I would like to thank the colleagues in the different departments who are involved in planning the return of these medical students to campus. They include members of the executive, Deputy Vice-Chancellor Professor Loretta Feris and Chief Operating Officer Dr Reno Morar; the Faculty of Health Sciences, led by the Dean, Associate Professor Lionel Green-Thompson; the Department of Student Affairs, headed by Dr Moonira Khan; and the Properties & Services Department, headed by Mr Mughtar Parker.

With kind regards,

Professor Mamokgethi Phakeng

Read previous communications:

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please view the republishing articles page for more information.