Nominations for Council are now open

10 April 2012

With the term of office of the current Council drawing to a close on 30 June this year, nominations for the new Council are now open and must be submitted in writing.

Once again, the Council will consist of 30 members (12 internal members, including the five ex officio executive offices - the deputy vice-chancellors and the vice-chancellor) and 18 external members, ie members who are not staff or students.

People elected from various constituencies:

  • Appointed by the Minister of Higher Education and Training: 3
  • Appointed by the Premier of the Western Cape Province: 1
  • Appointed by the City of Cape Town: 1
  • Elected by the Convocation: 6 external people
  • Elected by donors: 2 external people
  • Elected by the Senate: 3 members of Senate
  • Elected by the academic staff: 1
  • Elected by the Professional Administrative Support and Service staff: 1
  • Appointed by the Students' Representative Council (SRC): 2 students
  • Appointed by Council's Appointments Committee: 5 external people
  • Further details of the process and nomination forms are available here.

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please view the republishing articles page for more information.