UCT hails distinguished academics

21 October 2011 | Story by Newsroom

UCT has four new fellows, and three up-and-coming scholars have received the College of Fellows' Young Researcher Award.

Fellows Fellos
New on the block: VC Dr Max Price (second from left) and Prof Danie Visser (second from right) congratulate new fellows (from left), Prof Hans-Peter Kunzi, Prof Ed Rybicki, Prof Vanessa Watson and Prof George Janelidze. Rising stars: VC Dr Max Price and Prof Danie Visser (back) with winners of the Young Researcher Awards (from left, front), Dr Thomas Scriba, Dr Rob Ingle and Dr Deena Pillay.

At the university's annual College of Fellows' Dinner on 18 October, Professors George Janelidze and Hans-Peter Kunzi, both of the Department of Mathematics and Applied Mathematics, together with Professor Ed Rybicki of the Department of Molecular and Cell Biology and Professor Vanessa Watson of the School of Architecture, Planning & Geomatics, were introduced as the new fellows.

Fellows are academics singled out for their original and distinguished academic work. UCT fellows now number 49. (There are also 12 Sometime Fellows and 63 Life Fellows.)

In addition, Dr Rob Ingle of the Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology, Dr Deena Pillay of the Department of Zoology and Dr Thomas Scriba of the Institute of Infectious Diseases and Molecular Medicine were honoured with Young Researcher Awards. The Young Research Awards are made to young academics, recognising their already significant contributions to research in their fields.

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please view the republishing articles page for more information.