Mayor honours top students

09 June 2010 | Story by Newsroom

EBE AwardsThe best: Prof Francis Petersen, dean of EBE; Mayor Dan Plato (fourth from right) and the City of Cape Town's Mike Marsden (far right) honoured top faculty students Bruh Ayele, Jason Voorneveld, Alister Inglesby, Mallin Moolman, Joshua Brodrick and Simon Scott.

Cape Town Mayor Dan Plato has awarded the City of Cape Town Corporation Medals to top students from UCT's Faculty of Engineering & the Built Environment. The medals acknowledge the students' 2009 results, as Mike Marsden, executive director for transport, roads and major projects for the city, put it.

At the event, Mallin Moolman received the silver medal as the best third-year engineering student; Simon Scott, Alister Inglesby, Bruh Ayele, Jason Voorneveld and Joshua Brodrick got the silver gilt medals as the best engineering students in their departments; Hebert Nyakunuhwa was honoured with the bronze medal as the best second-year engineering student; and Jakobus Lowe received a silver gilt medal. (Nyakunuhwa and Lowe could not make it to the ceremony).

Faculty dean Professor Francis Petersen said UCT values its relationship with the city, in particular the contribution Marsden makes as a member of the faculty advisory board.

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please view the republishing articles page for more information.