Robinson runs off with sportsperson award

23 October 2008 | Story by Megan Morris

William Robinson & Ray Mali
Speedster: William Robinson, named UCT Sportsperson of the Year for 2008, receives the Jamison Cup from Ray Mali, former head of the International Cricket Council.

William Robinson, enjoying a standout sporting year, was named as the UCT Sportsperson of the Year at the university's annual Sports Awards Dinner on 17 October.

Robinson took home the evening's top honour for a string of wins and podium finishes in local trail races, including top spot, with teammate Dion Middelkoop, at the 2007 Cape Odyssey, and for clocking the best combined time over this year's Cape Argus Cycle Tour and Two Oceans Ultra Marathon events.

Speaking after receiving the Jamison Cup from guest speaker Ray Mali, Robinson, now doing his PhD in mathematics, urged the younger students at the dinner to keep chasing their sporting dreams, and UCT silverware. "It took me nine years to win this trophy," he pointed out.

Robinson was not the only member of the Athletics Club to pick up an accolade on the evening. The women's distance running team, Western Province cross-country champions again this year, received the Butterworth Cup as Team of the Year.

Fatima Dramat  & John Simpson

John Simpson, departing chair of UCT Sports Council, also presented the Chairperson's Award to the late Ish Dramat, the Rugby Club's legendary team manager, scorer, water-bottle carrier, rugby encyclopaedia and supporter of over half a century. (Ditto for the Cricket Club.) Dramat died on 27 May this year. His daughter, Fatima (pictured left with John Simpson), received the award on behalf of the family.

Other winners were:

  • Underwater Club - Club of the Year
  • Stephan van der Watt - Transformation Trophy, for the hiking programme he ran with young, disadvantaged learners on behalf of the Mountain & Ski Club
  • Angus James Morrison, Mountain & Ski Club - Turpin Cup for Service to UCT Sport
  • Jacques Viljoen - Best First-Year Trophy, for his win at the Aldershot Senior International Fencing Open in England, among other highlights
  • Rugby First XV - Landstem Trophy for Performance of the Year, for their memorable run in the inaugural Varsity Cup, for which they were named as the team that played the best rugby over the course of the tournament.
  • In addition, a number of students were honoured for winning provincial and international caps over the year. Another 16 students were presented with Merit Awards for their contributions to the administration of their clubs.

    Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

    Please view the republishing articles page for more information.