Scholars review outdated laws

06 October 2008

Scores of UCT academics have been appointed by the Minister of Justice and Constitutional Development, Bridgett Mabandla, to advisory committees of the South African Law Reform Commission (SALRC).

The committees were appointed to participate in the SALRC's Project 25 dealing with statutory law revision. Statutory law revision is the process of identifying and proposing the amendment or repeal of statutes that are no longer of practical use. The revision also targets statutory provisions that are obviously at odds with the equality provisions of the Constitution.

The appointed committees will review legislation administered by 14 government departments. Among the 112 experts on the committees, 15 hail from UCT, and all but one, Dr Ingrid Tufvesson, a transformation officer in the Faculty of Commerce, are from the Faculty of Law.

Professor PJ Schwikkard, deputy dean and head of the Department of Criminal Justice, and also a Commissioner of the SALRC, was appointed as the project leader for the advisory committee on the legislation administered by the Department of Environmental Affairs and Tourism.

Other UCT scholars on the committees are Debbie Collier, Aifheli Tshivhase, Alexander Paterson, Mohamed Paleker, Karin Lehmann, Graham Bradfield, Dr Caroline Ncube, Kelly Phelps, Professor Evance Kalula, Professor Rochelle le Roux, Tracy Gutuza, and Professor Tshepo Mongalo.

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please view the republishing articles page for more information.