UCT and the 2010 Soccer World Cup

21 July 2008

UCT has set up a task team to coordinate UCT's participation in the 2010 FIFA Soccer World Cup, in keeping with government's request that higher education institutions play a proactive role in the event.

At its first meeting, the committee reported on work that's been ongoing for some 18 months at UCT, says Deputy Vice-Chancellor Professor Thandabantu Nhlapo, who chairs the team. This includes approaches made to, for example, Student Housing and Sport & Recreation.

Other units, such as the Institutional Planning Department, reported on provincial and city plans for 2010 and how UCT could strengthen its representation on those bodies.

It was agreed at the meeting that UCT has much to offer the event and opportunities to tap. This includes accommodation and transport; student (and staff) volunteers for the event; arts and culture, be it in events linked to the World Cup itself or, for example, a free-standing theatrical programme at the Baxter or Hiddingh Campus; and marketing of UCT as an educational institution.

The task team urges all members of the UCT community who are involved in 2010 initiatives on behalf of UCT, or who are approached for involvment, to advise the team - Nhlapo, John Critien or Geoff Page - of these.

"The aim is not to take them over," says Nhlapo, "but to have a central clearing point with a bird's-eye view of the whole UCT operation in all its facets. This is absolutely crucial if logistical disasters are to be averted.

"Imagine the overbooking of facilities because the right hand did not know what the left hand was doing."

The task team is made up of:

  • Prof Thandabantu Nhlapo (chair)
  • John Critien (Properties and Services)
  • John Donald (Sport and Recreation)
  • Judy Favish (Institutional Planning)
  • Peter Grant (Finance)
  • Moonira Khan (Student Affairs)
  • Gerda Kruger (Communication and Marketing)
  • Dineo Noganta (Communication and Marketing)
  • Geoff Page (Properties and Services; servicing officer)
  • Murray Steyn (Communication and Marketing)
  • Prof Enrico Uliana (Finance)
  • Dr Karen van Heerden (Registrar's Office)
  • Grant Willis (Student Housing)

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please view the republishing articles page for more information.