Men's Health prize for Hewitson

18 June 2007 | Story by Helen Swingler

Science guy: Men's Health has honoured Prof Bruce Hewitson for his contribution to science and technology in South Africa.

Professor Bruce Hewitson of the Climate Systems Analysis Group has won the Science and Technology section of the Men's Health Best Man 2007 awards.

The winners, men recognised for their contributions to society, were announced at the Sandton Sun Hotel in Johannesburg recently. The award is in its fourth year.

Last year's winner in the science and technology category was Professor Tim Noakes of the UCT/MRC Research Unit for Exercise Science and Sports Medicine.

Finalists were selected after a public call for nominations. Candidates were sifted by a panel of specialists in various categories. But it was up to Men's Health readers to choose the winners, including John Perlman (media), David Kramer and the late Taliep Petersen (arts and culture), Mbulaeni Mulaudzi (sport), Fulton Ramaphakela (business), and Bafana Khumalo and Dean Peacock (public service).

Hewitson said: 'My award was based on international policy on climate change and my work for the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change.'

The magazine's editor, Andy Ellis, added: 'Striving to be the best, performing at their peak and, simply, getting the job done. That is what the Men's Health Best Men have achieved.'

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please view the republishing articles page for more information.