Sports glory up for grabs

03 October 2005

This coming Saturday, the Sport & Recreation Department hosts its annual sports awards dinner where it hosts the cream of UCT's sporting crop.

The nominees for the best first-year student trophy are Bronwyn Finch (diving), Jenine Ellapen (chess), Eugene Pelteret (hockey), Cheryl-Lynn Freeman (karate), Oliver Hobson (sailing) and Jade Liddell (water polo). There is a host of nominees for Club of the Year award - athletics, capoeira, judo, karate, mountain & ski, rowing, sailing, surf, tennis, volleyball and water polo. Up for the Transformation Trophy are rugby, volleyball and water polo.

In turn, William Robinson (athletics and cycling), Margot Scheffer (gymnastics), JJ de Castro Maia and Sarah-Jane Johnson (both of SASSU-UCT) are in the running for the Turpin Cup for service to UCT sport.

Then the women's road and cross-country team (athletics), the basketball men's first team and the squash women's first team have been nominated for the Butterworth Cup as team of the year.

For performance of the year - and the Landstem Trophy - Jenine Ellapen (chess), the cricket one-day league winners, the women's hockey first team and the Boland 90 hike men's team from the Mountain & Ski Club are vying for honours.

Ellapen again features among the nominees for the Jamison Cup and Sportsperson of the Year honours, joining other nominees Paul Blake (hockey), Craig Kleu (rugby) and Kimberly Schmidt (water polo).

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please view the republishing articles page for more information.