UCT science women vie for top honours

11 August 2004

UCT has five candidates among the 33 nominees for the 2004 Distinguished Woman Scientists award, created by the South African Department of Science and Technology to celebrate the role and achievements of women in science.

The nominees are: Professor Jennifer Thomson (who was also nominated last year) an expert in genetically modified foods; dinosaur bone expert Professor Anusuya Chinsamy-Turan; seed biologist Professor Jill Farrant; archaeologist Professor Julia Lee-Thorp; and virologist Professor Anna-Lise Williamson.

Last year, UCT's Professor Vanessa Watson from the School of Architecture, Planning and Geomatics won the inaugural competition, with Thomson and Professor Zephne van der Spuy (obstetrics and gynaecology) among the four finalists.

The competition is seen as a direct response to the vision encapsulated in the National Research and Development Strategy to improve the quality of life among South Africans. It also recognises the contribution of outstanding women in scientific research.

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please view the republishing articles page for more information.