Academics' Association appoints new executive

14 July 2003

Keeping the AA on track: Dr Gillian Finchilescu will serve as chairperson of the Academics' Association for the next year.

The UCT Academics' Association elected a new executive committee at its recent AGM. Dr Gillian Finchilescu (psychology) will chair the committee for the second of her two-year term. She is joined on the executive by treasurer Associate Professor Craig Comrie (physics), Adelene Africa (psychology), Dr Gail Fincham (English), Dr Judith Head (sociology), Salma Ismail (Centre for Higher Education Development), Dr Kashif Marcus (materials engineering), Dr Daniel Mashao (electrical engineering), Loyiso Mbabane (Graduate School of Business), Samson Muradzikwa (economics), Dr Ulrike Rivett (civil engineering), Associate Professor Colin Tredoux (psychology) and Randall van Voore (commercial law).

Speaking at the AGM, Finchilescu outlined some of the AA's priorities for 2003/2004, including the new remuneration structure, monitoring medical aid and UCT retirement fund issues, HR services and policies, and transformation and equity matters. The first general meeting for all academics will take place on July 21 at 12h50 in Arts 100, Arts Block, to discuss the proposal around the new remuneration structure. The AA can be contacted via organiser Roger Arendse at 650-2418 or More information on the AA is available at

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please view the republishing articles page for more information.