2016 Collaborative Educational Practice Awards

15 December 2016 | Story by Newsroom
From the VC's Desk

15 December 2016

Dear colleagues and students,

The University of Cape Town's Teaching Awards and Grants Sub-Committee oversees the Collaborative Educational Practice Awards, which recognise excellent collaborative approaches to enhance the teaching and learning environment at UCT. In 2016, awards were made for work conducted by very large inter-disciplinary and cross-departmental teams that showcase the reach enabled by sound collaborative educational practice.

The 2016 recipients of the Collaborative Educational Practice Awards are:

Medicine and the Arts
Team members: Susan Levine, Steve Reid, Peter Anderson, Shose Kessi, Deborah Posel, Lester Davids, Berni Searle, Mdu Kweyama, Mark Solms, Marc Hendricks, Raj Ramesar, Raj Mesthrie, Lorna Martin, Fiona Ross, Janet Small, Andrew Deacon, Jay Pather, Finuala Dowling, Johan Brink, Elelwani Ramugondo, Ali Baghai-Wadji, Philani Sikhakhane, Carla Tsampiras, Sean Baumann, Silke Dyer and Francois Bonicci.

Susan Levine and Steve Reid have pioneered Medicine and the Arts as a Masters level course offered to students from any faculty at UCT or outside of UCT. Twelve seminars guide students through the human life cycle, from birth to death, as seen from the perspectives of artists, medical doctors and social scientists. The course was also developed into UCT's first MOOC in 2015. 

Social Infrastructures (SI): Engaging with community for change
Team members: Janice McMillan, Vanessa Watson, Jane English, Ulrike Rivett, Jane Battersby-Lennard, Mercy Brown-Luthango, Jesse Burton, Hilton Trollip, Lisa Kane, Harro von Blottnitz and Tanja Winkler.

The SI course (END1019L) is a collaboration between the Engineering and the Built Environment (EBE) Faculty, Centre for Higher Education Development, and the Science and Commerce Faculties. It focuses on providing a learning space for EBE students to understand the relationship between their technical engineering knowledge and the broader community in which they will work as professionals. It counts as a Faculty of Humanities elective for the students.

Learn Accounting website
Team members: Jacqui Kew, Alexandra Watson, Goolam Modack, Taryn Miller, Gizelle Willows, Don McDonald, Jimmy Winfield, Carla Fourie, Jolandi Gevers, Jacqueline Dean, James Anthony, Carlos Correia, Paul Maughan, Riley Carpenter, Shaun Parsons, Riyaan Mabutha, Sumaya West, Wayne Coetzee and Michael Harber.

Many students struggle with understanding and applying accounting concepts and this becomes increasingly challenging as students are required to do so in more complex applications. This challenge can be even more pronounced for non-English first language speakers. The website is an online multilingual resource where students can be directed to enhance their understanding of threshold concepts in accounting.

Please join me in congratulating the recipients of these collaborative awards.


Professor Sandra Klopper
Deputy Vice-Chancellor: Teaching and Learning

Read previous communications:

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please view the republishing articles page for more information.