Eleven UCT women win awards

03 September 2012

Eleven UCT scholars, young and older, featured among the winners of this year's South African Women in Science Awards, or WISA, presented by the national Department of Science & Technology.

Prof Alison Lewis Prof Hanri Mostert
Winning work: Prof Alison Lewis and Prof Hanri Mostert were among the UCT winners of the 2012 Women in Science Awards.

Leading the procession of UCT women were Prof Alison Lewis, who picked up the top award in the blue-ribbon category for Distinguished Women Scientists: Physical and Engineering Sciences; and Prof Hanri Mostert, runner-up in the category for Distinguished Young Women Scientists: Social Sciences and Humanities. Then, DST fellowships for doctoral students went to Joyce Mwangama, Gladwell Nganga and Toni-Lee Sterley, and fellowships for master's students were awarded to Matsopiane Maserumule, Lombe Mutale, siblings Narjis and Sumaiyya Thawer, and Akhona Vava.

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please view the republishing articles page for more information.