New members appointed to Council

12 April 2010

Business, union and student leaders have been appointed to serve on the UCT Council to replace members who have died or resigned.

The new members are Sheila Barsel, who was appointed by the Minister of Higher Education and Training, Blade Nzimande; Andre Kriel, Qarnita Loxton, Gloria Mamba and Charles Okeahalam, who were all appointed by the Council's Appointment Committee; as well as Dave Watson, who was appointed by the Students' Representative Council. They will sit on the governing structure until June 2012, except Watson, whose term ends in October. The appointments follow the death of Professor Ralph Kirsch and the resignations of Philisiwe Buthelezi, Thando Mhlambiso, Ibrahim Patel and John Samuel.

Barsel, is a gender activist who serves on the Ministerial Advisory Committee on National Health Insurance. She has an abundance of experience in the health sector, and is also a well-known politician.

Kriel is the general secretary of the South African Clothing and Textile Workers Union, and has devoted his life to improving working conditions in the clothing and textile industry.

Loxton is a career coach and a legal and compliance consultant within the asset management industry. She has held legal-service positions in different organisations.

Mamba is the head of private equity in the Development Bank of Southern Africa, and has extensive experience in the financial sector, having worked for various organisations.

Okeahalam is the group managing director of Group Africa Growth Holdings, and has contributed extensively to a range of economic policy and development issues in Africa.

Watson is a current UCT student and a former secretary of the Students' Representative Council.

Other members of the Council are Professor David Aschman, Dr Abdul Barday, Professor Jo Beall, Graeme Bloch, Debbie Budlender (Exco), Vuyiswa Doo, Mr Justice Ian Farlam, Gary Gabriels, Jeremy Gauntlett (Exco), Justice Craig Howie, Associate Professor Mohamed Jeebhay, Professor Evance Kalula (Exco), Councillor Owen Kinahan, Sizwe Mpofu-Walsh (Exco), Chair of Council, The Most Reverend Njongonkulu Ndungane (Exco), Professor Thandabantu Nhlapo, Trevor Peterson, Dr Max Price (Exco), Associate Professor Ulrike Rivett, Milton Seligson (Exco), Professor Crain Soudien, Emeritus Professor John Terblanche, Penny Vinjevold and Professor Danie Visser.

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please view the republishing articles page for more information.