Deputy vice-chancellors selection process gets underway

21 July 2008

The process to appoint three permanent deputy vice-chancellors in the Office of the Vice-Chancellor is formally underway and expected to culminate at the end of the year.

The successful candidates will replace Professor Cheryl de la Rey, who left UCT to head the Council for Higher Education; Professor Martin West, who retired on 30 June; and Professor Martin Hall, who will step down on 31 August.

"UCT is undergoing a change of guard at the top echelons of management," Vice-Chancellor Dr Max Price said. "We're looking for similarly outstanding candidates of stature and credibility to take the helm of these three senior portfolios, creating a strong base for the university's development.

"The new DVCs will have a unique opportunity to shape UCT at an exciting time in its history; a period of what we hope will be characterised by far-reaching transformation."

Applicants must be outstanding and adaptable academics with an established research track record and senior leadership experience in an academic institution or research organisation.

Appointments are ordinarily five-year contracts, renewable in terms of the university's procedures.

Their main task will be to help the Vice-Chancellor implement UCT's vision and the implementation of Council and Senate's strategic plans.

The VC and DVCs collectively oversee:

  • academic leadership and planning in teaching and learning, research and innovation, and social responsiveness;
  • the effective management of the university's operations, administration, finances, human resources and facilities;
  • the overall quality of the student experience, including recruitment and selection, student development, residences, international students and student governance;
  • interaction with external partners, including government, local and international universities, alumni business and local communities, and donors;
  • the promotion of transformation and quality assurance;
  • the performance of representative and ceremonial functions.

These functions may be clustered into four DVC portfolios. Though open to change over time, there will usually be one portfolio tied to research functions, and another to teaching, learning and quality assurance. A third concerns resources and operations. A fourth relates to student affairs, external relations, alumni and fundraising.

Applicants may indicate their interest in some or all of the functions or portfolios, although it should be understood that the clustering of responsibilities could change over time.

The advertisements for the three DVC posts are being circulated nationally and internationally. The university community has until 1 August to nominate suitable candidates. Other applications must be submitted by 15 August. Nominations, with a brief motivation, should be sent as early as possible for follow-up by the selection committee (see advertisement right for nomination and application details).

Selection committee

Jeremy Gauntlett, chair (representing Council)
Vuyiswa Doo (Council)
Archbishop Njongonkulu Ndungane (Council)
Ebrahim Patel (Council)
Dr Max Price (as Vice-Chancellor)
Prof Melvin Ayogu (Deans)
Prof Paula Ensor (Deans)
Prof David Aschman (Senate)
Prof Bongani Mayosi (Senate)
Prof Lungisile Ntsebeza (Senate)
Assoc Prof Pumla Gobodo-Madikizela (academics)
Dr Ulrike Rivett (academics)
Edwina Goliath (professional and support staff)
Dr Marilet Sienaert (professional and support staff)
Thulani Madinginye (students)
Thando Vilakazi (students)
Prof Francis Petersen (nominated by VC on grounds of diversity, experience or expertise)
Prof Thandabantu Nhlapo (nominated by VC on grounds of diversity, experience or expertise)

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please view the republishing articles page for more information.