Stop press

27 March 2006

Emeritus professors

The Senate has unanimously elected the following retired academics to the ranks of Emeritus Professor and Emeritus Associate Professor: Geoff Brundrit, professor of oceanography (1978-2005); Ralph Kirsch, professor of medicine (1984-2005); Horst Klump, professor of molecular and cell biology (1987-2005); Christopher Molteno, professor of psychiatry and mental health (1992-2005); Sandro Perez, professor of physics (1983-2005), Andrew Sass, professor of mechanical engineering (1990-2005); Fabio Todeschini, professor of architecture, planning and geomatics (1996-2005); Nikolaas van der Merwe, professor of archaeology (1974-2005); Douglas Young, professor of education (1981-2005); and Dirk van Zyl-Smit, professor of private law (1982-2005). Senate expressed their gratitude to these retirees for their contributions towards teaching and scholarship at UCT and expressed the hope that as senior scholars they would continue to play a pivotal role at UCT for many years to come.

Digital treasures

Scroll down the menu of online sources on tap at UCT Libraries and the notion of information overload very quickly hits home. Spoilt for choice but pressed for time, library users can but dip into a fraction of the journals and databases available, hoping they don't overlook a real wellspring. So the guided lunch-time tours of UCT's "Invisible Library" during SA Library Week of March 13 to 18 - hosted by the Library & Information Association of South Africa (LIASA) to celebrate the theme Libraries: Partners in Learning, Nation Building and Development - was just the ticket. Over the week, librarians introduced lecturers, researchers and students to some of the pick of the library's electronic databases, including the ACM Digital Library, the Humanities International Complete, the Web of Science and Psychiatry Online. Sure, the volume of traffic on the information highway can still take your breath away, but at least now there's a map.

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please view the republishing articles page for more information.