Baxter Theatre appoints new board

11 November 2002
THE newly-appointed board of the Baxter Theatre Centre in Rondebosch will continue to provide guidance in the theatre's endeavours to host the best of South African performing arts.

The Baxter Theatre, which is celebrating its 25th anniversary this year, recently opened the much-anticipated Kramer and Petersen musical District Six. Located in Rondebosch, it is a popular complex and home to many of the city's local performing artists while providing a stage for international productions and performers (controversial playwright Steven Berkoff will perform there later this month).

The new board is a vital component of the successful functioning of the Theatre and will provide guidance and consultations on various matters including fundraising. The members are: Dixie Strong (chairperson), Rhoda Kadalie (Deputy Chair), Professor Njabulo Ndebele (UCT Vice-Chancellor), Hugh Amoore (UCT Registrar), Professor Roben Cohen (Dean of Humanities), David Kramer, Mannie Manim (Director of the Baxter Theatre), Caroline Menell, Nosindiso Mtimkulu (UCT student representative), Anet Pienaar-Vosloo and Dr Richard van der Ross.

The Theatre, which is attached to UCT, has as its mission statement “to endeavour to present and host the best of South African performing arts. The objective is to reflect the cultures of all the people of South Africa on our stages and in our foyers and galleries”.

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please view the republishing articles page for more information.