A passion for mathematics leads to success

28 November 2019 | Video Evan Zerf. Journalist Kim Cloete. Video editor Evan Zerf. Photo Michael Hammond.

Associate Professor, Jeff Murugan, who is also Deputy Dean of UCT’S Science Faculty, has won one of two 2018 Distinguished Teacher Awards for his innovative teaching in the Department of Mathematics and Applied Mathematics at UCT.

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please view the republishing articles page for more information.

UCT Annual Awards 2019


On 28 November Vice-Chancellor Professor Mamokgethi Phakeng hosted the 2019 UCT Annual Awards, an evening that saw the university community gathered together to celebrate the outstanding contributions of professional, administrative support and service (PASS) and academic staff.

The event serves to acknowledge and honour no fewer than 127 long-serving staff and the recipients of the Distinguished Teacher Award, the Alan Pifer Research Award, ad hominem promotions and the inaugural Vice-Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence and Transformation.

This page will be updated with new articles and videos as soon as they are available.

Follow the celebration on Twitter via #UCTAwards2019.