Ikey old boys shine in Currie Cup final

12 November 2012

Ikeys at Currie Cup finalThe general: WP flyhalf Demetri Catrakilis, scorer of the winning points in the Currie Cup final, represented UCT before making the jump to inter-provincial rugby.

With fans of Western Province rugby having enjoyed the team's victory parade through Cape Town on 30 October after WP's first Currie Cup trophy in 11 years, UCT can proudly point to a strong Ikey connection to the thrilling final in Durban on 27 October.

Five former UCT rugby players started for WP in the against-the-odds victory against the Sharks: Don Armand (flank), Demetri Catrakilis (flyhalf), Damian de Allende (centre), Eben Etzebeth (lock) and Nic Groom (scrumhalf), while star centre Marcel Brache was named on the WP bench. Ikey fans would also have recognised Sharks No. 12 Tim Whitehead, another finalist who represented UCT in the recent past.

All seven players made their name for UCT in the FNB Varsity Cup, and all but De Allende were part of the Ikey class of 2011 that lifted the FNB Varsity Cup. The 2013 edition of the FNB Varsity Cup kicks off on 4 February next year.

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please view the republishing articles page for more information.