New SRC unveiled

01 October 2012

The annual freshening up of UCT's top student leadership structure was - more or less - confirmed on 25 September with the announcement of the provisional results of the Students' Representative Council (SRC) Elections for 2012/13.

After students cast their ballots over the voting week from 17 to 21 September, the members of the new SRC are as follows, in descending order from most votes received: Marissa Van Rensburg, Jarred Devar, Lorne Hallendorff, Kgotsi Chikane, Alex Swanepoel, Lusani Nemalili, Chanda Chungu, Darren Brookbanks, Emma Selfe, Timothy Winter, Lwazi Somya, Mangi Gondwe, Emily Bate, Keenan Hendrickse, Tom Guattari Stafford, Tarryn Naude and Sarvesh Balkaran.

These 17 students garnered the most votes from the 31 (one withdrew before voting closed) candidates that stood for office.

The election poll of 34.859% met the SRC Constitution's requirement that a minimum of 25% of full-time students vote for the new SRC to be constituted. A total of 6,706 votes out of a 26,057-strong student population were tallied.

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please view the republishing articles page for more information.