Nota Bene

10 October 2005

NSTF awards nominations open

Are you rubbing shoulders with a star every day? A bright light in the scientific firmament with a host of cutting-edge research or innovations to their credit. Or even a wealth of success in training and developing the bright stars of tomorrow?

You may want to nominate them for the 8th National Science and Technology Forum (NSTF) Awards for 2005.

It's a veritable who's who in science, engineering and technology, and UCT is home to a number of winners, including Professor Wieland Gevers, Professor Iqbal Parker, Professor Anusuya Chinsamy-Turan and Dr Coleen Moloney, who all took top honours in their categories last year.

The deadline for submissions is 12h00 on November 30. Please go to for information on the categories, processes and nomination forms.

These awards have been endorsed by the Department of Science and Technology and Minister Mosibudi Mangena is the official patron.

Food scare over at residences

In a letter addressed to students, Dr Ian Mackintosh, director of student housing and residence life, said that the final test results on food samples collected at University House were clear of pathogens (bacteria) that may be detrimental to consumers.

This did not completely exclude the possibility that there was some form of food contamination that led to a number of students who use the University House dining hall reporting symptoms of diarrhoea and vomiting after the evening meal on September 27.

The catering company contracted to UCT, Royal Sechaba, has also indicated that staff will continue to take preventative measures to maintain hygiene in the kitchen and dining hall areas while undergoing strict, regular checks by Vega Hygiene.

Student Health also reported a spate of viral gastroenteritis, common at this time of the year, which had seen several day and residence students with similar symptoms.

In his letter, Mackintosh thanked students who heeded the advice from Student Health, as well as wardens, subwardens, staff and student leaders who played a constructive role in this matter.

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please view the republishing articles page for more information.