Three new DVCs to replace SDVC

28 May 2002
THE Selection Committee appointed to run the process for the selection of a successor to Professor Wieland Gevers, who retires as Senior Deputy Vice-Chancellor at the end of 2002, has recommended to Council that three new Deputy Vice-Chancellors be appointed instead.

In December 2001, after their second meeting, the Selection Committee said they were conscious that the position of SDVC was an "extremely important one" that would have a major impact on the University. "The Committee was also mindful of the fact that, with the departure of Dr Sibusiso Sibisi (Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Research and Innovation), there was more than one vacancy at DVC level," said Mary Burton, Deputy Chair of Council and Chairperson of the Selection Committee.

"In the light of the changed situation, the Committee recommended that the Vice-Chancellor should be given the chance to consider de novo his needs at the executive level," she added. Burton said the search for a SDVC had been temporarily set aside and the "A grade" applicants for the SDVC's position had been asked whether they would be willing to be considered as applicants for one of three DVC positions. The SDCV Selection Committee has also agreed to undertake this selection process.

In the interim, Council decided at their February 2 meeting that the Dean of Science, Professor Daya Reddy, would act as DVC (Research and Innovation) in Sibisi's place. Reddy's appointment is until June 30, 2002.

Note: The closing date for applications for the DVC positions is March 1, 2002. Should you wish to nominate someone for the post, please send your nomination to Mary Burton, Chairperson of the Selection Committee, c/o Bridget Grant, Staff Recruitment Officer, Bremner Building.

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please view the republishing articles page for more information.