2021 Fellows of UCT

UCT’s Council established fellowships for members of permanent academic staff in recognition of original, distinguished academic work that merits special recognition.

This year, nine new fellows have been recognised.


College of Fellows Young Researcher Award

The Young Researcher Award is offered annually in recognition of outstanding scholarly work by young academics who have made significant independent contributions to research in their field.

This year, four young researchers have been recognised.



Lauren Kohn Department of Public Law, Faculty of Law 03 Nov 2021
Dr Tebogo George Mahashe Michaelis School of Fine Art, Faculty of Humanities 03 Nov 2021
Associate Professor Christopher Ouma Department of English Language & Literature, Faculty of Humanities 03 Nov 2021
Associate Professor Amir Patel Department of Electrical Engineering, Faculty of Engineering & the Built Environment 03 Nov 2021