Vote for your SRC reps this week

14 September 2015 | Story by Newsroom
Voters can choose up to eleven candidates on the ballot from today until Friday, 18 September.
Voters can choose up to eleven candidates on the ballot from today until Friday, 18 September.

This week UCT students can vote for their preferred candidates on the 2015/2016 Students' Representative Council.

Campaigns have closed, manifestos have been heard and candidates have been interrogated, so the 28 hopefuls will wait for the results of this week's voting. Students can vote for up to eleven candidates.

All undergraduate and postgraduate students who have been registered for more than one semester can vote. While a valid ballot demands your student number and birth date, your votes remain confidential as that information is used only to confirm that you are a registered student.

Where you can vote

Students can vote online using the eBallot system or by paper-ballot at various voting stations around UCT's campuses.

On Upper Campus, voting stations operate daily from 08h00 to 16h00 in the Food Court, Main Library, Jameson Plaza, and Leslie Social Science. In Beattie and RW James buildings, voting stations are open from 08h00 to 15h00, and from 12h00 – 14h00 in the Menzies Food Court.

On Middle Campus on Monday, Wednesday and Friday from 08h00 to 10h00 and 12h00 to 14h00, students can vote in the entrance to the South African College of Music and in the Kramer Food Court.

Voting stations are also open every day this week at Jammie Shuttle stations: at North Stop between 08h00 and 10h00 and between 12h00 and 14h00; at West Stop between 12h00 and 14h00; and on Lower Campus between 08h00 and 16h00.

Health sciences students cafeteria can vote in the Barnard Fuller cafeteria between 09h00 and 16h00 every day this wee. Students on Hiddingh Campus can cast their votes on Monday and Wednesday between 12h00 and 14h00 and on Friday between 13h00 and 15h00.

Finally, all of this week students can vote at the following residences from 18h00 to 20h00: Clarinus, Graça Machel, Kopano, Leo Marquad, Rochester House, Fuller Hall, Tugwell, University House, Liesbeeck, Obz Square, The Woolsack, and Groote Schuur Mansions.

The candidates' manifestos can be found here and the election regulations can be read here.

Ballots will be rendered invalid if the student number or birth date has not been completed, if the ballot has been defaced in any way or if more than eleven candidates are voted for.

Remember, though, that voting is not the be-all and end-all of one's democratic input. Rather than outsourcing responsibility, keeping your elected representatives in check by attending meetings, sending emails to SRC and faculty council members, and raising your voice when something concerns or pleases you. This is what makes democracy really tick.

Story by Yusuf Omar. Photo by Michael Hammond.

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please view the republishing articles page for more information.