This Mohle prefers high altitudes

22 October 2012 | Story by Newsroom

Joe Mohle was the big winner at the annual UCT Sports Awards on 19 October, as the UCT climber picked up the Jamison Cup as the Sportsperson of the Year for 2012.

Sport Awards Sport Awards
Climb to the top: Joe Mohle, receiving the Jamison Cup from vice-chancellor Dr Max Price, has been named UCT Sportsperson of the Year. Rocking the boat: The Rowing Club had plenty to cheer about at the UCT Sports Awards, picking up four trophies.

The UCT Mountain and Ski Club member beat off stiff competition from fellow climber Benjamin de Charmoy, rugby player Dillyn Leyds, hockey star Grant Robertson and fencer Gisele Vicatos to walk away with the biggest trophy of the night. As master of ceremonies Mike Wills, whose merciless wit had the audience in a constant fit of giggles, described, Mohle is ranked in the top five of all climbing codes in South Africa, and is the only non-professional climber ranked in the top ten in the world.

This, along with being the only climber in the last 15 years to earn such high all-round rankings as well as a first ascent of a 4,000m peak in the Atlas Mountains in January this year, was enough to make Mohle the first climber to be crowned UCT's top athlete since 1989.

Back down on earth (sort of), the Rowing Club made a splash with a king's ransom of trophies. With its festive members on hand to cheer loudly for every triumph, the club was awarded the Butterworth Cup for Team of the Year; the Landstem Trophy for Performance of the Year, for Leo Davis's and Jozef Muller's silver-place finish in the men's heavyweight pair race at the 2012 World Championships in Kazan, Russia; as well as Club of the Year, for combining excellent performances with successful event-hosting and a community outreach programme. Sarah Bishop, also a rower, claimed the Turpin Cup for Service to UCT Sport.

The Hockey Club was awarded the 2012 Transformation Trophy for founding the Khayelithsa Hockey Club, a venture that has attracted 80 new players so far. Leyds was named UCT's Best First Year for his twinkle-toed performances at fullback for UCT, Western Province and the Baby Boks.

The 2012 Chairperson's Award was gratefully received by Lorne Hallendorff, the outgoing Students' Representative Council (SRC) sport and recreation co-ordinator, for his efforts to develop sport at UCT. In addition, a hailstorm of merit awards, half colours, full colours and plaques rained down on students representing codes from track and martial arts to yachting.

View the photo album.

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please view the republishing articles page for more information.