Commission gets underway

09 March 2012

The Admissions Commission that will look into UCT's admissions policy has finalised its composition. The members are as follows:

  • Judge Craig Howie (chairperson), member of the UCT Council
  • Graeme Bloch, member of the UCT Council
  • Professor Lungisile Ntsebeza, professor of sociology at UCT
  • Professor Crain Soudien, deputy vice-chancellor
  • Professor Neville Alexander, director of the Project for the Study of Alternative Education in South Africa
  • Professor Nan Yeld, dean of Higher Education Development (co-opted to the commission given her expertise in CHED matters and benchmark testing)
  • Alexander Spoor - Students' Representative Council

The commission is supported in its work by Royston Pillay, director in the Office of the Vice-Chancellor.

The commission is in session and has invited inputs from internal and external persons (the submission deadline was Friday, 9 March). Thereafter, the commission will deliberate the issues raised by respondents and also make a determination as to who it would wish to invite for oral interviews.

The provisional timetable is as follows:

  • 9 March - Deadline for submissions
  • 29 March - The commission will meet to decide who it will invite for interviews
  • 15/16/17 May - Oral hearings

Subsequent to the oral hearings, the commission will deliberate to formulate its recommendations.

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please view the republishing articles page for more information.