Michaelis marks Dak'Art

30 June 2010 | Story by Newsroom

Prize winners

Svea Josephy, senior lecturer at UCT's Michaelis school of Fine Art, was awarded second prize in the Dak'Art Biennial of Contemporary African Art in Dakar, Senegal, at a ceremony on 9 May. Josephy received the Prix du Ministere de la Culture (Prize of the Minister of Culture) from Vivienne Wade, wife of the president of Senegal, Ousseynou Wade. Michaelis was well represented at the Biennial.

Of the eight winners on the stage four were UCT-trained. As well as Josephy, ex-UCT prize winners were Nirveda Alleck, Hasan Essop and Husein Essop.

Seen here are prize-winners (from left): Nirveda Alleck (Mauritius), Moridje Kitenge Banza (DRC), Hasan Essop (RSA), Husein Essop (RSA), Svea Josephy (RSA), Mouna Jemal (Tunisia), Nabil El Makhloufi (Morocco) and Barkinado Bocoum (Senegal).

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please view the republishing articles page for more information.