Jacobs and Opie honoured

03 June 2009

Former head and founder of UCT's Division of Haematology Emeritus Professor Peter Jacobs, and Emeritus Professor Lionel Opie, director of the Hatter Institute for Cardiology Research (in the picture), have been awarded the prestigious Centenary Medal from Die Suid-Afrikaanse Akademie vir Wetenskap en Kuns (the South African Academy for Science and Arts). Among the 25 recipients are Nobel laureates Nelson Mandela, Desmond Tutu and FW de Klerk, as well as luminaries such as Adam Small, Al Debbo and David Kramer. The Academy is celebrating its centenary by giving the award to people who have broken new ground in their respective fields. The awards will be presented in a ceremony at the University of the Free State on 27 June.

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please view the republishing articles page for more information.