UCT welcomes new fellows

19 October 2007 | Story by Myolisi Gophe

Hailed: Recipients of 2007 Fellowship Awards Dr David Gay, Fritha Langerman, Dr Danwood Chirwa, Dr Sandrine Lecour and Dr Virna Learner with Vice-Chancellor and Principal, Prof Njabulo S Ndebele, at last night's annual Fellows Dinner.

UCT has welcomed five new fellows and has presented Fellows Awards to six researchers.

UCT fellowships are awarded to scholars for original and distinguished academic work. The new fellows are Professor Jonathan Burchell of the Faculty of Law (pictured left with Prof Ndebele), Professor Tim Crowe of the Department of Zoology, Professor Cesareo Dominguez of the Department of Physics, Associate Professor Ingrid Fiske of the Centre for Extra-Mural Studies and Professor Heather Zar, head of the Department of Paediatric Pulmonology.

In turn, six Fellows Awards are made each year to academics under 40 who have made a significant independent contribution to research in their field. This year's recipients are Dr Danwood Chirwa of the Department of Public Law; Professor Graeme Cumming, who holds the Pola Pasvolsky Chair in Conservation Biology in the Percy FitzPatrick Institute; Dr David Gay of the Department of Mathematics and Applied Mathematics; Fritha Langerman, a senior lecturer at the Michaelis School of Fine Art; Dr Virna Leaner of the Division of Medical Biochemistry; and Dr Sandrine Lecour, a senior lecturer in the Department of Medicine.

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please view the republishing articles page for more information.