No objections for new SRC

18 September 2007 | Story by Myolisi Gophe

A new Student Representative Council (SRC) for 2007/8 has been elected with another high turnout to the polls from 27 to 31 August.

A total of 6 575 (31%) part-time and full-time students voted, and 15 of the 23 candidates will take office from 1 November.

In the new leadership, Thulani Madinginye will replace Zuki Mqolomba as the president, and his cabinet will consist of Thami Ledwaba and Gareth Bloor as vice-presidents (external and internal respectively), with Yusuf Mowlana stepping in as treasurer.

Thando Vilikazi will be the new secretary general, deputised by Tendai Moyo, while Samantha Ball, who got the most votes, will be the academic chair.

Tarryn Christians will be co-ordinator for transformation, Mbulelo Ncanywa for residences, Karobo Mkhabela for the day-house, James Robertson for societies, Mzo Daphula for sports and recreation, Nic Roslee for media and communications, Nonala Tose for entertainment and fundraising, while Faith Chirinda will be a co-ordinator for health, safety and security.

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please view the republishing articles page for more information.